Skip to content
SES - NSW State Emergency Service NSW Government - Office of Environment and Heritage

NSW Flood Data Portal

Hay Shire Council

The Hay Shire is a local government area in the Riverina area of south-western New South Wales. It is situated on the Murrumbidgee River. The Shire comprises 11,326 square kilometres and is located adjacent to the Sturt, Mid-western and Cobb Highways. The area includes the towns of Hay, Booligal and Maude.

Hay Shire Council is currently upgrading the flood protection levee system for the town of Hay. The northern town levee bank was originally constructed in the mid 1950's and was successful in saving Hay from flooding during a major flood in 1956. The levee bank was extended with a southern section in 1974.

Additional Info

Field Value
Name Hay Shire Council
Data Broker Email